New Goondiwindi Regional Council declared

Lawrence Springborg.

Lawrence Springborg.

The 2020 Local Government Election is all over, bar the shouting, and there won't be too much of that.

Your new council is Phil O'Shea, Rob Mackenzie, Lachie Brennan, Jason Watts, Rick Kearney and Susie Kelly.

The new mayor, Cr Lawrence Springborg said he would meet and congratulate the councillors in a low-key affair before Council's first meeting next week.

However his congratulations went out to all candidates. "I believe it was an exceptional group of candidates and I would have been happy to work with all of them. I also thank them for their community spirit in standing."

He also thanked outgoing councillors Joan White from Texas, Rick McDougall from Inglewood and David Turner from Goondiwindi. "They have been excellent representatives of their communities".

He highlighted though he would be in charge of the Goondiwindi "Regional" Council. "We represent everyone. I said in Inglewood that council will be meeting once a year in Inglewood and Texas and that will happen. Unfortunately because of circumstances that won't be immediately but we've already discussed having a meeting in Inglewood followed by Texas later in the year."

Cr Springborg said he was looking forward to the challenges ahead. "I am incredibly excited about representing my community and using the contacts I have built up within government to get us to the front of the queue."