Yetman overcome Yagaburne to win Goondiwindi cricket grand final

CHAMPIONS: Yetman celebrate their grand final victory. Photo: Jocelyn Sevil
CHAMPIONS: Yetman celebrate their grand final victory. Photo: Jocelyn Sevil

Yetman Yabbies have won their first title in more than 40 years, defeating Yagaburne by four wickets in the Goondiwindi and District Cricket Association grand final at the Goondiwindi Golf Club on Saturday.

Set a target of 214 to win, Yetman were able to chase down the total with 20 balls to spare in a thrilling contest.

Yagaburne got off to a fast start, with Peter Jackson and Nick Lahey putting on 79 for the first wicket before Jackson was dismissed by Sam Dight (1/25) for 56.

Ian Webster joined Lahey at the crease as they were able to compile another solid partnership before Webster was dismissed for 27.

It was then Michael Casey's turn to partner up with Lahey, scoring 26 before George Stacey sent him on his way.

Shortly after Lahey was finally dismissed by Dave Ryan for a hard fought 62.

Contributions at the back end of the innings from Andrew Jakins and Patrick Glasser got Yagaburne's total up to 5/213 off their 40 overs, setting up an exciting run chase.

Tristan McMillan topping the bowling figures for Yetman with 2/21, with Dight, Ryan and Stacey each taking one wicket apiece.

Tegan and Tristan McMillan walked out to bat for Yetman, 214 the target.

They got off the mark quickly, but Tegan was dismissed for 13 and Tristan was later out for swift 36. 

Nick Smith played the anchor role at first drop, working well with Tristan McMillan, Dennis Rush (18) and Digby Makim (40) before Smith was undone by Brendan Rice for 55.

When Daryl Martin dismissed Makim for 40, there was hope for Yagburne but Dight and Scott Baker were able guide Yetman home, reaching their target in the 38th over.

Martin was the pick of the bowlers for Yagaburne with figures for 2/33 but it wasn't enough as Yetman took home the Weir Shield.

It caps off an incredibly successful year for Yetman, only losing one game all season.

It also completed a series sweep against their grand final opponent, after two dominant wins throughout the regular season, however there's no doubt Yagaburne made them work hard for this victory.